The following were elected on May 15, 2018, to represent Chester County on the PA Democratic State Committee, or were subsequently appointed to an opening. Members serve for 4 years and meet 3 times a year. The CCDC Chair is also ex officio a member of State Committee.

The Pennsylvania Democratic State Committee (PADSC) is the governing body of the Pennsylvania Democratic Party. It steers the direction of the party and organizes for Democrats across the ballot and the state. It elects party leadership, holds nominating conventions, and passes and promotes the party platform. For reports on past meetings, search State Committee in the Search function. For more on State Committee see here; for its caucuses, see here.

Elva Bankins Baxter. For the past 15+ years, Elva has been actively engaged in voter outreach and engagement. A 30-year resident of Chester County, she has lived in Tredyffrin Township for 25 years. She is a business owner, and works as an executive coach, career coach, and leadership consultant. She ran for Tredyffrin Township Board of Supervisors in 2015 and serves on several boards, including the Chester County Women’s Commission. She also became CCDC Treasurer in January, 2021.

Barbara E. Cooper lives and serves as a Democratic Committee Person in West Goshen. President of AFSCME Local Union 2345 WCU since 1989. Delegate to Democratic National Convention 1988, 1992, 1996, 2000, 2008, 2012. Served on Democratic State Committee since 1986. Two-term Chester County Jury Commissioner. Past Secretary of CCDC and Democratic Women’s Club. Family includes children and grandchildren as well as many others.

Pam Hacker, born and raised in Pottstown, was hired as a secretary by Bechtel Construction to assist the Electrical Engineering Department during the construction of the Limerick Nuclear Power plant. This experience introduced her to the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers. In 1984, Pam was accepted into the IBEW Local 380 apprenticeship program. She became an industrial and commercial construction electrician and was twice elected to the Executive Board. She continues to work and support the IBEW as member of 98 North. Her and her husband Stephen Hacker’s three children are all graduates of the Owen J. Roberts School District.

John Hellmann III became a Precinct Committee Person in 2002 and has continued to serve including acting Zone Leader for the West Goshen, PA 156th District Leader, and 158th District Leader. In 2016, he was elected as a Sanders delegate to the DNC and has been part of many campaigns for Democrats for 18 years. A retired electrician, he is a member of the IBEW concerned about the attacks on working families and will fight for working people and the unions that stand for them.

Christopher Kowerdovich was a medic in the Pennsylvania National Guard; after deployment to Iraq, he earned an Organizational Leadership degree at Penn State University. His involvement in the Democratic Party began by knocking doors for President Obama’s reelection campaign in 2012. Since then, he has worked on a variety of campaigns, managed social media accounts and taken on various functions with the Chester County Young Democrats and Young Democrats of America.


Diane O’Dwyer has served since 2004 as an active Democratic volunteer and a committeeperson in Uwchlan; she was the Central Chesco Dems zone leader 2010-18 and has also been among the leaders of several Chesco campaigns. After many years of employment in private industry, in 2019 she became Administrative Analyst for County Commissioner Kathi Cozzone and is presently the County’s 2nd Deputy Recorder of Deeds. On State Committee she plans to be active in the Women’s Caucus and to stress party unity (“We can and must come together to move the Party forward”).

Bill Scott volunteered for the Chester County Democratic Party for the first time in 1964, so that he now marks well over 50 years as an active Chesco Democrat and participant in campaigns. He was a member of Citizens for Kennedy in 1960 and President of the Rutgers College Democrats (New Brunswick). Bill has long years of service on both the County and State Committees and their Executive Committees. He has been a District Leader and Zone Leader, a Delegate to the Democratic National Convention, and nominee for County Commissioner. Bill is in his fourth term on the West Chester Borough Council, on which he served a term as President. He makes every effort to best represent the views of Chesco Dems.

Van MolHans van Mol, a Tredyffrin resident, represents the younger generation of Democratic leadership. Hard work, respect, responsibility, and obligation motivate his commitment to serving all while finding solutions to crucial issues. He ran in 2015 for Chesco Recorder of Deeds and in 2016 for PA House 157, and serves as CCDC Parliamentarian. A WCU (Music Ed.) grad, he is an Inventory Manager at JWPepper in Exton, a high school band director, and a Tri-County umpire. Hans was the youngest President of the Chester County Pops Orchestra, and presided over their capital campaign, modernized their operations, and increased patronage, and through efficient budgeting enacted a wage increase for each musician.

Michele Vaughn is Regional Director for the Pennsylvania Federation of Democratic Women and Chair of the Chester County Democratic Women’s Leadership Initiative, founded in 2015 to bring the issues that concern women, organized labor and working families to the political forefront. She is especially proud of CCDWLI’s role in the 2017 historic elections of four Chesco Row Officials. Michele would like to bring her experience leading CCDWLI to other counties across Pennsylvania by providing women an opportunity to be become engaged leaders in communities, the political process, the Democratic party, and the Progressive movement. She was CCDC Vice-Chair from 2000-06 and Chair from 2006-14, and an East Whiteland Township Supervisor from 1998-2003.

37 South High St.
    West Chester, PA 19382

(610) 692-5811

email CCDC


Pin It on Pinterest